Baked Curry Chicken

My pre-made dinner for the week: Baked Curry Chicken.

I usually make a variant of this using honey or sugar in the base so there is a combination of sweetness and spice, but since I am starting my “sugar detox” this week I left it out. Based on your palate add 1-3 tablespoons of honey or brown sugar if you want that sweet/savory component.

To make the tomato base for this recipe, I used half of what I prepared for a beef and vegetable stew (to be posted later).

Image

For a multi purpose tomato base.

In a small bowl mix:
Half can tomato paste
2 tbs minced garlic
4 tbs lemon juice
4 tbs soy sauce, gluten free
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

Image

To customize for curry chicken, add:
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 tsp curry powder
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne (I like things spicy, so adjust for your needs).
1/2 tsp paprika
1 tsp oregano
black pepper to taste

Image

Image

I use one package of chicken breasts for most of my chicken recipes. But since most chicken breasts are so large I cut them into thirds to make them last over a number of meals. 

Image

Depending on the consistency you want, or flavors, you could add more or less butter, oil, or soy sauce. I’ve grilled the chicken previously, and in that case used less liquid components so the marinade “stuck” to the meat better.

I baked this at 375F for 30-45 minutes. Checking it for temperature (165F) at 30 and then at 45. Ovens vary, so keep that in mind when using other’s recommended cooking temperatures and times.

Image

I will serve this with white rice, quinoa, or some sautéed mixed veggies made the night I want to eat it. But I find it easier since I work eight hours a day (not including my commute time) to cook my proteins for the week on Sundays. As usual I set aside about one or two portions in a separate container to freeze- this means that for at least one night or even one week of any given month I have meals already prepared and in the freezer for thawing and eating!

Image

Results: Flavor seems about right…I do miss my sweet element (honey or brown sugar) but otherwise the chicken came out nice and juicy!

One thought on “Baked Curry Chicken”

  1. Looking forward to trying some new recipes from your blog!
    BTW you can make adobo without the sugar…some people only add a teaspoon of sugar to adobo, some add a couple of tablespoons, and some don’t add any. So maybe you can give it a go during your detox?

Leave a Reply

